Shadowscapes Tarot – Review

Previously, I was not the type of person that used multiple decks. Once I found a deck that spoke to me I stuck with it and only acquired a new deck when it became necessary. Prior to purchasing the Shadowscapes Tarot, I owned and used only one tarot deck and one oracle deck.

Shadowscapes Tarot is a deck by Stephanie Pui-Mun Law. I was first drawn to it when I heard it briefly mentioned by a YouTube blogger during her livestream. The art was captivating even from the small screen of my cell phone.

After researching the deck, I discovered that, while it follows the structure of a typical Rider-Waite-Smith deck, the art and imagery moves away from those particular religious archetypes. I find the imagery to be much more fluid and much more universal. I did a thorough search of images of the cards as a preview and made the decision to purchase.

This deck has not disappointed me in the few months that I have been using it. Many decks with softer imagery can sometimes present their information in a way that is soft. While that works for some, I find that information should be presented, always, in a way that is best for the querent to receive it; this deck presents information in such a way.

As a woman of color, I was pleased to be able to purchase and use a deck by a fellow woman of color without having to purchase something blatantly (and frustratingly) “ethnic”. The figures in her art come across as multi-cultural and, I believe, allow any individual to connect and relate to the messages they offer in their respective cards.

Of the decks I have seen, used, and owned I am most please with this tarot deck. I look forward to looking forward long into my tarot practice and I value each and every message I am allowed to share from it.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

